Critical Success or Failure

Critical Success

When a natural 20 is rolled on a d20, it may become a critical success. First, the resulting skill check gains a +10 to the result no matter if it is a critical success or not. Next, roll the check again with all the original modifiers. If the second check succeeds, matching or exceeding the original DC, then the attempt is considered a critical success. The exact outcome of such a success will be determined by the DM.

Critical Failure

When a natural 1 is rolled on a d20, it may become a critical failure. First, the resulting skill check gains a -10 penalty to the result, no matter if it is a critical failure or not. If the roll still meets or exceeds the DC of the check, after the penalty is applied, then the attempt is successful. If the attempt does not meet or exceed the check’s DC, roll the check again with all the original modifiers. If the second check fails to meet or exceed the DC, then the attempt is considered a critical failure. The exact outcome of such a failure will be determined by the DM.

>>House Rules

Link to SK House Rules

LIBRARY

Librarysmallest

Critical Success or Failure

Crimson Skies PhoenixMark